START TYPING AND PRESS ENTER TO SEARCH

The Pont du Gard

The Pont du Gard

The Pont du Gard is an architectural marvel spanning three levels, located in the Gard department, a few hours drive from the towns of Remoulins, Nîmes and Uzès. This exceptional work was a part of a Roman aqueduct mainly designed for the transport of water in Nîmes, crossing the roach.

The great fame enjoyed by this monument is largely due to its two thousand years of history and its imposing architecture. Built from limestone in the first century BCE, it has resisted for centuries to time, successive wars, industrial revolution and ecological problems and is still in good condition today. Its conception was such a success that the Pont du Gard had only one major change after more than 2000 years of existence. Indeed, the bridge is famous for its legendary solidity because during the large floods in 1958, the waters ascended to the level of the second floor, despite that the bridge resisted perfectly, while most of the other bridges, like that of Remills, were Destroyed.

It is a beautiful building that is part of the world Heritage of mankind. This is one of the most famous monuments in France, it has hosted more than a million visits in 2010, this is the place to visit absolutely if you plan to take a tour in the area! Enjoy it, our hotel is a few dozen minutes away by car and is often listed as "Pont du Gard hotel" in some guides.

START TYPING AND PRESS ENTER TO SEARCH

Le Pont du Gard

Le Pont du Gard

Le Pont du Gard est une merveille architecturale s’étendant sur trois niveaux se trouvant dans le département du Gard, à quelques heures de route des villes de Remoulins, Nîmes et Uzès. Cet ouvrage exceptionnel était une partie d’un aqueduc romain principalement conçu pour le transport de l’eau à Nîmes, en traversant le Gardon.

La grande célébrité dont jouit ce monument est en grande partie due à ses deux mille ans d’histoire ainsi que son architecture imposante. Construit à base de pierre calcaire au premier siècle avant notre ère, il a résisté pendant des siècles au temps, aux guerres successives, à la révolution industrielle ainsi qu’aux problèmes écologiques et il est aujourd’hui encore en bon état. Sa conception fut une telle réussite que le pont du Gard n’a connu qu’une seule grande modification après plus de 2000 ans d’existence. En effet, le pont est réputé pour sa légendaire solidité car lors des grandes crues en 1958, les eaux montèrent jusqu’au niveau du deuxième étage, malgré cela le pont résista parfaitement, tandis que la plupart des autres ponts, comme celui de Remoulins, ont été détruits.

C’est un magnifique édifice faisant partie du patrimoine mondial de l’humanité. C’est l’un des les plus célèbres monuments en France, il a accueilli plus d’un millions de visites en 2010, c’est le lieu à visiter absolument si vous prévoyez de faire un tour dans la région ! Profitez-en, notre hotel en est à quelques dizaines de minutes en voiture et il est d’ailleurs souvent répertorié comme « Hôtel Pont du Gard » dans certains guides.